ARVO SIG May 5 2010

April 22, 2010 by · Leave a Comment 

Please join us if you are attending ARVO this year.
And then add the program which is below – it can be a second link and you can just add the arvo logo to fill in the space on the front page of the website


5th May 2010 Noon Grand B

Opening comments Deborah Sweeney

KPro’s today – types of implants, indications and problems with infection, stromal melting and inflammation (Gunther Grabner) 5 mins

Open Discussion 10 mins

Panel Discussion: “How can novel materials and surfaces be designed to deal with these complications” 30 mins


Heather Sheardown

Daniel Kohane
Rejean Munger

Open Discussion 40 mins

Wrap-up (Jean Marie Parel) 5 mins

Helen Keller Foundation honors Claes H. Dohman, MD, PhD

April 22, 2010 by · Leave a Comment 

Professor Claes Dohlman, MD, PhD, President of the 8th KPro meeting


Harvard Medical School emeritus professor of ophthalmology receives Helen Keller Prize for Vision Research

The Helen Keller Foundation will honor Claes H. Dohlman, MD, PhD, as the 2010 Helen Keller Laureate at a ceremony during the Annual Meeting.
The foundation established the Helen Keller Prize in 1994 as a way to promote public recognition of vision research. An international panel of biomedical researchers and physicians select the Laureates, who are honored each year at the ARVO Annual Meeting.

Dohlman founded the Mass Eye and Ear Cornea Service and the Cornea fellowship program. One of his many accomplishments was the development of the Boston Keratoprosthesis, or “artificial cornea,” which provides alternative treatment for patients who cannot undergo a standard corneal transplant.

Dohlman served as the chief and chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School and Mass Eye and Ear from 1974 to 1989.  He is an emeritus professor of ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School.